Valentino Valentina Poudre

Valentina Poudre is the epitome of a liquid form of Johnson’s baby powder. Very gentle and delicate, she gracefully enters a room leaving a soft trail of powdery vanilla and sparkles. 

As I was perfume hunting I saw the baby pink bottle and my heart melted, I wasn’t expecting much so when I sprayed her onto a blotter I was moved. The buttery vanilla and powder was heart-warming, girly and sweet. It was so good but felt so bad at the same time that I couldn’t help but snigger to myself like a misbehaving school girl. It reminded me of cold winter evenings in London when I’m layered up to the nines, hot chocolate in hand, cursing as the bus that was supposed to arrive 1 minute ago pulls up rather sluggishly to the packed bus stop. The air is piercing straight through me like a shot at the dentist and as I board the bus and seat myself next to a questionably dressed gentleman the warmth of Valentina Poudre radiates around me; subsiding the days pain and exhaustion as I stare outside the window into the abyss. The dry down is similar to the opening but a lot softer. I’m always searching for depth when it comes to fragrances but VP is so sensual that I don’t care about its linearity.

My body chemistry doesn’t tend to resonate well with softer fragrances; I often need 10+ sprays (seriously) but with VP I literally need one spray and it’s there ALL DAY. She even remained after I washed my hands and showered. I was so shocked because this is the FIRST fragrance to survive the power of the shower!

Valentina Poudre is a charming fragrance with an aura that helps to relieve the stress and woe one encounters in their daily life. Poudre has shown me the power that scents have when it comes to affecting our moods and feelings. She’s a true gem.

Notes 

Top: Powder

Middle: Vanilla

Base: Musk

IMG_2916

Leave a comment