Fragrance Fluidity

Dior Homme Intense was one of the first fragrances that allowed me to toy with the idea of “fragrance fluidity” a term that I created and use to describe the concept of wearing male (and/or female) fragrances regardless of your gender. It was December 2014, I was at work and throughout the day another colleague’s fragrance was low-key seducing me.

I thought to myself: Vanilla, musk and perhaps a dash of tobacco. Ooh, there’s a bashful floral note. Jasmine? As if, Jasmine is not one to shy away from the limelight. HA.

At this moment in time I couldn’t tell whether the wearer was male or female because the scent was ferociously spicy but also alluringly genteel. The mystery wearer walked past me eventually and was met with my wide-eyed and ecstatic inquisition:

Me: “WHAT ARE YOU WEARING?! YOU SMELL AH-MAZING!”

Ashley: “Thank you, it’s Dior Homme Intense”

Me: “Do you think girls (lol) could wear it too?”

Ashley: “Definitely, it is quite sweet at times”

*Frantically searches Fragrantica*

Unfortunately for me this fragrance did not work with my body chemistry but venturing into the other section of the fragrance store helped me to dispel the myth that fragrances are gender specific. You should wear what you want irrespective of whether it was “intended” for you or not. I have gone on to wear a series of male fragrances ranging from Allure Homme by Chanel to 1872 for Men by Clive Christian and I currently have my eye on Ultra Male by Jean Paul Gaultier. I have met many scents with a non-binary facet to them and I think that this adds an element of surprise and excitement to the wearing experience. Take my beloved scent Oud Ispahan for example, the voluptuous Turkish Rose accord provides a feminine aspect that is typical of a floral fragrance but the raw and tenacious oud and musk combination makes it somewhat herbaceous and manly. We eventually arrive at a grey area where the two balance each other out and the scent is just.. Unisex. Perfumery should be about appreciating the composition of a fragrance, the history underpinning it and allowing us, the wearer to interpret any hidden messages and meanings. Fragrances are intended to unite individuals not divide them. 

 More often than not we get fixated on labels but as of late I’ve come to realise that society possesses a complexity that is deeper than the categories we deem to be the norm. Don’t be afraid to deviate from this. Wear what you want

Leave a comment